Writeangleswithsheila's Blog
Creative Writing – and all the links you need to track my work and published stories/articles

DANCE, DANCE, WHEREVER YOU MAY BE!

I waltz into the kitchen…1-2-3-…1-2-3…, pad over the wooden floor, slide toward the radio, yawning.

A voice tells me it’s “7am…rise and shine!”

My rice krispies jump and gyrate – snap, crackle and pop – on an undulating bed of frothy-white milk – like round, brown bodies dancing on a bouncy castle.

My spoon clinks and tinkles with musicality, diving into a cereal bowl painted floral blues and greens.  I crunch, crunch, shambling about, dressing-gowned, arms outstretched to hold my invisible partner – around and around – slow, slow, quick- quick, slow.

The cereal inside the bowl cackles with mirth as I stumble awkwardly into two cats waiting to be fed.

One of them performs a Rumba of superlative quality around my ankles, slinking sexily between my calves.  “MI-IA-OW!” she sings in harmony with the sensuality of her sumptuous dance.

The other one, back arched, competes.  He thumps and stomps some sort of a cha-cha with his tail and flops down, exhausted!

  “Tea for two…and two for tea!”  I sing along, moving in time to the beat of his tail.  He glares!  I suppose I’d better feed him.

The cat biscuits shush and shake a magnificent mambo in faultless 4/4 time.

Slurping tea, I skip a polka out through the patio door.  Shout a hearty “Good morning!” to my feathered friend, the blackbird who lives in my pine tree.  He whistles a greeting and trips the light fantastic, hopping back and forth doing the jitterbug, opening his bright yellow beak, carolling “chk – chk” for his breakfast.

“OK!  OK!”  I laugh and sprinkle a handful of  his favourite cat biscuits at my feet.  He does a Watusi   “First you slide to the left and then to the right”,

bending and pecking, right there, at the toe of my slipper!

I tip-toe away to dance a jig – “YESSS!” I hiss.   Just a bit nearer every day!  I’ll have him eating out of my hand before long.

Mr Blackbird’s lady friend appears from the tree, flapping her grey-flecked wings to waft bountiful aromas of forest and pine.  She’s fatter than the male.  Waddles an ungainly quick-step toward him to get her share of the treats.

It’s Spring-time and love is in the air.  He turns and makes an oblique run at her, head bobbing, open-beaked, tail feathers fluffed to do his dance of love.

The cat-flap judders like a drum-roll and out shoot the cats – in a crouch, wiggling rear-ends like crazy.  I think  they’re all set to Salsa but Mr and Mrs Blackbird know better.  And with a cacophony of sound, they leap to the air together in a perfect pas-de-deux.  With a huge percussive flapping of their wings, they fly off to their cup-shaped love-nest of twigs and grass and moss.

I distract the cats away from the birds with a twig from a bush.  We do a half-decent hand-jive, but this party’s no fun anymore and they slink off, pouting.

Ah well, that’s that then!  And like a wallflower without a partner for the last dance, I sneak back indoors hoping no-one noticed.

© Sheila Newton 2010

7 Responses to “DANCE, DANCE, WHEREVER YOU MAY BE!”

  1. Well, I just hope you were not wearing those penguin slippers?!!? Tee hee

  2. Penguin slippers? How very dare you!!
    Sheila

  3. Hi Sheila,

    Thanks for your patience with my response to your request. I’ve had intermittent internet access here in the southern hemisphere; it’s not any fault of the hemisphere of course. I just happen to be going to remote places. 🙂

    Your style of writing seems to capture every moment intimately. The number and variety of adjectives help the reader experience each event in your writing. I think this is a great writing tool, and essential for your creative writing; admittedly though I feel that it’s a bit saturated. In other words, I am feeling *all* of every moment and it’s a bit of sensory overload. In my writing, I try to detail only the most salient moments. It helps the reader maintain pace while reading and changes the rhythm of the story, bringing attention to those important moments.

    I like your use of imagery, overall. Try to fill in your story with a solid plot–some experience in life that your readers can identify with and follow and be curious about. As I was reading, I wanted to know where the story was going. Such a powerful beginning to a day could whisk the actor and the reader into some spectacular event, even if it is just leaving the house, ready to seize the day.

    Anyway, I’d love to keep reading and watch your writing development. Best wishes, and thank you for reading my blog.

  4. Thank you so much for your valuable comments – I’ll take it all on board. I’m in the middle of reading your latest post. Keep it going. I almost feel like I’m THERE – and WOW!

  5. Fantastic- get with the beat and dance to the rythm of life. Great involving piece, get an immediate feel for the experience

  6. […] I waltz into the kitchen…1-2-3-…1-2-3…, pad over the wooden floor, slide toward the radio, yawning. A voice tells me it’s “7am…rise and shine!” My rice krispies jump and gyrate – snap, crackle and pop – on an undulating bed of frothy-white milk – like round, brown bodies dancing on a bouncy castle. My spoon clinks and tinkles with musicality, diving into a cereal bowl painted floral blues and greens.  I crunch, crunch, shambling about, dr … Read More […]

  7. Best foot forward- lets dance. Those cats look ready to rejoin the performance on the dancefloor of life.


Leave a Reply

